Message from the Executive (December 2003)

Message from President Michelle Senkow

Hello my name is Michelle Senkow, I am a Foothills Hospital Nursing School graduate from 1981. I’ve participated as an active union member for over 20 years as Ward Rep, PRC member (Professional Responsibility Committee), PRC and Staffing Committee Chair, Grievance Committee Member, Local Vice – President and Local Secretary. Having lived and worked in Edmonton, Grande Prairie and Calgary as a staff nurse I can appreciate and speak to nursing work-life issues.

For 6 years I participated as an AARN Provincial Councilor, by voicing the concerns of the staff nurses at the AARN table.

Having worked FT, PT, casual throughout my career I understand and can empathize with the current issues facing nursing. Like many nurses I have taken pride in my profession while raising a family of 5 children with my husband of 25 years.

I have participated in Provincial and Local Nursing Committees to advocate for the nursing profession and nurses.

I believe that through my strong ability to educate, motivate, listen and work with others, we can improve our nursing workplaces. My dedication is to involve nurses in every aspect of their union.

I am a true Nursing advocate that will go the mile to improve working conditions for nurses at Local 115.

I believe in UNA as a membership driven, democratic organization. As we begin the New Year together I look forward to the challenges and commitment of our local. Our executive is committed to involving you in every aspect of our union. Together we can make a difference and make great strides for our nursing profession. Best wishes as we prepare for the holiday season. I look forward to meeting you and working with you to make this local a great place to be.

Leave a Comment

