UNA Local 115 Portfolio Rep Year End Report – December, 2016

img-foothills-50-celebration1
FMC opened in 1966

 

Many of you know us, Jeunine Champagne, Sandra McGonigal and me, Dorothy Clements. You may met us through our visits with our Coffee Cart and different events during the year, Nurses Week, Foothills Medical Centre 50 Year Anniversary Parade and the UNA Stampede Barbecue at our office site on Kensington Road.

I have had a couple of very busy years. I started out needing some advice about a request from management. It was minor but it got me involved. I started attending local meetings, then I was nominated and elected as a Portfolio Representative at Local 115 Annual General Meeting. My role is to act as a liaison between Unit Reps, Local 115 Executive Team, Alberta Health Services Human Resources and Management. There are currently the three of us mentioned above, who are all working to strengthen communication and relationship between these four parties.

In my first year (starting in December 2014), I attended three workshops that all members will find of benefits to understanding our union and how it works for us; ‘Unit/Office Rep’, ‘Know Your Rights’ and ‘Dealing With Abuse’ You will be paid your current wage by AHS if you are scheduled to work (request for union business LOA) or by UNA Provincial Accounting. Lunch is provided. I urge our members to participate in these events. There are no restrictions on how many members can serve one unit.

cdlcDuring the next year, I received more union educational opportunities. I learned a lot about the challenges that local executives have to face, including being supportive to our local members who are investigated or disciplined. I also was able to attend a pre-retirement workshop put on by the Calgary District Labour council. It was very interesting and not just about finances for the next phase of your life.

I have enjoyed the past two years and will continue to be involved with our local. With contract negotiations coming up soon, I would encourage all our members to be aware of what this will mean for each of us in these harsh economic times. I will be attending the Demand Setting Meeting in Edmonton November 22, 23 and 24.

As a Portfolio Rep, my goals are to recommend new and existing members to sign up on UNAnet. Access provides you with an email account and the ability to sign up for workshops and both Provincial AGMs and Local 115 AGMs plus a communication tool which allows units.

Our local is the largest in Alberta. We cover all nursing units in McCaig Tower, Foothills Medical Centre Main Tower, Special Services Building, Clinics in UCMC and TRW Building and South Calgary Urgent Care Centre including Hemodialysis units in Northland Mall and in the Fanning Care Centre. We will continue to reach out to our members with the ‘Coffee Cart’ to listen to your concerns and provide resources to those in need.

In Solidarity,
Dorothy Clements